And Now For Something Completely Different

Shortly after this picture was taken the Santa Monica pier was over run by an army of frog men in the service of the Squidly Lord.

Shortly after this picture was taken the Santa Monica pier was over run by an army of frog men in the service of the Squidly Lord.

Back from a weekend off the grid for the most part.  Hung out back home with a good friend from out of town, got nice and smashed, and really enjoyed just relaxing and talking for long periods on the front porch.  I certainly see the allure of old folks when they just sit and smoke and watch the world  go by.  But as Mr Harrison once sang, all things must pass, and now I’m back at work in the land of entertainment.

Trying hard to put my mind back  into a place where I can just sit and write again.  It’s been fairly difficult lately, I like the things I’m working on, but I feel a bit directionless, probably due to a combination of being forced to move soon,  the inevitable shift in jobs, and an atrocious level of apathy towards folks whose only real crime was to either bore me or just fail to meet my high level of requirements from those close.  I really just want to put everyone on hold, in such a way as to not hurt their delicate feelings (crybabies) and just go into isolation and finish the screenplay.  It’s starting to mean alot to me that I just get back to it and finish, and all of the side stuff that people want is distracting and making a task I already find hard, just sitting down and doing the work, that much harder than it needs to be.

All thats missing is whiskey, a good whacking cane for the kids on the lawn, good conversation, and a pack of camels.

All that's missing is whiskey, a good whacking cane for the kids on the lawn, good conversation, and a pack of camels.

It’s been very strange, the last couple months have been an exercise in getting the bad back, and it’s been working, but the cost has been a strange level of living in between spaces, more in touch with my past, less in touch with the present.  And of course, worse of all, is that I’m pleased with the process, and a little less caring than I should be about the people and things I am losing touch with now.

Fuck ’em I guess.

Enough navel gazing, I’m depressing myself, I’m going to go find a porch somewhere and light one up.

The music for todays post are as follows, and yes, I know only one of the links works, do the fucking work, it’s worth it:

Van Morrison – Tupelo Honey
Tom Waits – Jockey Full of Bourbon
Pulp – Like A Friend

Leave a Reply

