Midean May Be Where The Monsters Go, But It Isn’t Where the Director’s Cut Does

‘Nightbreed’ is one of those rare late 80’s/early 90’s horror artifacts that really doesn’t get enough love.  One of my favorite Clive Barker books turned into a decent and fun film about monsters, psychopaths, and facial runes that would one day haunt my hazy MDMA induced rave-monkey delusions.  It even has Cronenberg in the infamous button faced-mask, that’s selling point alone.

What do you mean no one loves me? *sniff*

What do you mean no one loves me? *sniff*

Outside of die-hard horror fans, no one really knows about this flick, so it comes as no surprise that even though there is apparently enough lost footage for a director’s cut, we probably shouldn’t hold our breath anytime soon.  From Clivebarker.info via Chud:

“One fan set out in search of the truth, armed only with a few phone numbers and the power of a name…

“On one call I was transferred to a production executive. You already know what I told him, so let me tell you what he told me: He Can Access The Lost Nightbreed Footage At Any Time.

“My jaw dropped. Struggling to remember my already limited vocabulary, I asked what had to happen in order for the footage to see the light of day. He explained to me that someone, namely one of the higher ups, had to have a good reason to pull it out of storage. I, having that good reason, nodded and thanked him. He couldn’t have been a nicer guy.

“Excited, I pictured myself walking through large dusty warehouses filled from floor to ceiling with ancient reels of arcane footage. I’m sorry to report, that’s not what happened.

“Shortly after, one of said higher ups was gracious enough to give me a moment of his time. I was shocked when he told me there wasn’t a big enough audience for the film and that the answer to my request must be no.

‘Not even worth the cost to upgrade to Blu-ray,’ he said.

Bummer.

2 Responses to “Midean May Be Where The Monsters Go, But It Isn’t Where the Director’s Cut Does”

  1. That saddens me greatly. Oh well, they’ll release it after I shoot my REMAKE!

    -J

  2. joeylabartunek Says:

    I was going to add to the end a bit about your planned remake, but I didn’t want to give anything away just yet, LOL.

Leave a Reply

