Because Monday is Apparently Classic Video Game to Movie Day

Since I was already in a mildly simmering rage over the silliness of the incoming Asteroids movie, I was amazed to stumble across even more pointless video game adaptations in the works.  From Dark Horizons:

Warner Bros. Pictures has landed many of the assets of the now defunct Midway Games via a bankruptcy court fire sale reports Variety.

For a cool $33 million, the studio now own the rights to various popular video game franchises such as “Mortal Kombat,” “Spy Hunter,” “Space Invaders,” “Pac-Man,” “Rampage” and “Joust.” The Chicago-based developer was amongst the first firms to manufacture video games over three decades ago and declared bankruptcy earlier this year.

Warners has not revealed what plans they have in store for potential film development of the properties, though they did not purchase the company’s two development studios which would indicate they’ve little interest in continuing on the company’s game franchises.

A film version of “Spy Hunter” and a long in development relaunch of the “Mortal Kombat” film franchise have both been hampered in recent years in their attempts to get made.

I’m really sad to hear that Midway is gone, they did produce some of the best games of my youth, ones that just funneled quarters out of  your pocket.  But…

Fucking Pac-Man and Joust?

Well hell, now I’ve got to get back to that ‘Burger Time’ screenplay I’ve been itching to write for the past few years.

I will admit, that looking at this poster makes me a little more excited about a Joust flick. Who doesnt like buzzards and lava, I once had a buzzards and lava themed birthday.

I will admit, that looking at this poster makes me a little more excited about a 'Joust' flick. Who doesn't like buzzards and lava, I once had a buzzards and lava themed birthday.

Leave a Reply

