All Mod Cons

Today is the official first day of the San Diego Comic Con.  Yes, yes, I know technically last night was preview night, but that’s all shit made up for vendors and people who like to feel important by hanging on preview night.  I mean it’s called preview night for a reason.

Here’s a little secret for you, I can’t fucking stand the idea of going to ComicCon half the time.

I don’t know what my problem with Con is.  As it gets closer and closer I always start to dread and resent it more.  Maybe I don’t resent the event.  Sure the crowds and the parking and the prices would give most sane people cause to hate it, but that’s just the nature of the beast.

It’s hard to put a finger on it.  When I first started going it was– fuck, far more than ten years ago at this point, maybe even closer to 15  Just myself and my buddy Brian went, and it was a much smaller affair (which isn’t saying much, half the size of the current monster is still a monster), stretching throughout just the main convention building, as opposed to the monolithic halls that have since been built to house the Hollywood previews and giant panels.  I met people, smoked cigarettes with icons (I’m looking at you Kevin Smith), and generally had a good time.  As the years went on, more and more people started to come.

Hotel rooms swelled.  Organizing,  packing, and gathering up troops became an eventEvents suck by the way, being reserved for beheadings and monster truck ralleys, and this not being either of those things, had no business aggregating into such a task.  Gathering and herding crowds of acquaintances and semi-acquaintances should be left to those inclined to give a shit how good a time everyone else is having.  I am not one of those people.

I dunno.  It’s hard to put a finger on, I think my distaste comes from the ugly habbit in the past of having to behave like some kind of a papa-bear to folks.  It’s not a role I handle well and as adventuring parties go, I kinda suck, being the guy who likes to adventure in very small and select groups or alone. And even now, after I have effectively severed myself from having to take care of anyone, I still have to see people, shake hands, organize meetings with folks for logistical reasons, and smile like I give a shit instead just wanting to quietly go find the latest Rob Zombie or Venture Bros panel.  Just keep it simple and away from me.

And I think I just put my finger on it.  I miss simplicity.  I miss simplicity in everything, it’s one of those things that gets harder and harder to find as years go by.  But in the pure fun stuff, like Con, simplicity is exactly what I miss most.

Maybe next year I will undertake the quest for simplicity.

One Response to “All Mod Cons”

  1. Wonder Twin Says:

    Next year, you will be squiring your Wonder Twin around Con, and it will be glorious. Simplicity be damned, Wonder Twin requires booze and spectacle. Fortunately, spectacle is relative, and I’m easily entertained.

Leave a Reply

