Guillermo Del Toro talks ‘The Hobbit’

I wonder if it's the beards that gives them the power of awesome, maybe I should grow mine back....

Total Film has a great interview with one of my favorite directors and personal heroes, Guillermo Del Toro about the movie I am probably more hype on than any I have been in… well maybe forever.  I used to read The Hobbit every year like clockwork when I was a kid.  In fact, it’s the book I remember reading first in life, coming from a family of huge Tolkien nerds it was thrust into my tiny hands at the young age of 6.

It’s a dream of mine to work on ‘The Hobbit’, I dunno if I’m going to beat the clock on this one but you can bet that who ever is handling post-production for this film is going to start hearing from me weekly come Spring.  And even if I don’t make it, I couldn’t be happier with what the man is saying already.  Here are a couple excerpts:

You mentioned the structure. Will the book make up the first movie, with the second movie plucked from the appendices and maybe even your imagination? Or will parts of the book be saved for the second movie?

We are respecting the structure established by Professor Tolkien because the order of the adventures in The Hobbit is well known to generations and generations of kids. You don’t want to be moving stuff like that.

But we will be integrating Gandalf’s comings and goings because he does disappear in the book quite often.

So, as opposed to the book, we see where he goes and what happens to him

Presumably working with Peter (Jackson) is not that much different to working with Mike Mignola on the Hellboy movies?

You nailed it. I’d say Mike is as opinionated as if he was another director because essentially he directs on the page. And Mignola, like Pedro and Peter, knows the process – they all know that at some point you’re going to be alone with the beast [laughs].

You’re going to be the guy and you can only trust your own instincts.

You’re not going to be making a phone call from a remote location to ask a question; you’re going to have to make a decision yourself.

Leave a Reply

